The Kartsport Trophy
Originally presented by Mr & Mrs M Attwood in 1977 for the overall best performance by a member of the Kart section. Results are computed on a points basis from the best 10 results.
Lord Wakefield Challenge Trophy
Presented to the Women’s Automobile Sports Association in 1920, as their premier award for two annual trials, although other events were taken into account, such as finishing in the Monte or performances in Hillclimbs. During the war it remained in the hands of the last winner, Mrs H Wood, until 1973, when she presented it to the BWRDC. The Trophy is awarded to a woman for outstanding contributions to motorsport.
The Helen Spence Trophy
Presented by Wendy Hamblin’s Mother, Helen Spence, in 1970 and originally awarded to women not holding, nor eligible for a National or International Racing Licence at the beginning of the year,. In 1979 the rules were changed to count the best 10 results from any race meetings of choice. The Trophy is now awarded for the best performance by a newcomer from all sections. The winner is announced by the Committee.
The Louise Aitken-Walker Trophy
The Louise Aitken-Walker Trophy, awarded to the BWRDC Rally Champion.
Originally known as the BWRDC Rally Challenge for Drivers and first awarded in 1979, subsequently renamed in 1996, when a replacement trophy was received from Louise Aitken-Walker. Awarded on the best ten results claimed from events of their own choice.
VIP Adrenaline Award
Donated by Victoria Pickles in 2009 for the best performance driving a Sports or Sports Racing Car.
The Shell Hillclimb Trophy
Presented by the Shell Oil Company in 1970, this silver trophy is awarded for the best performance by a member from the Speed section, for competing in Hillclimbs.
The Patty McLaren Award
A glass bowl donated by Patty McLaren and awarded for the most outstanding achievement in motorsport by a senior member.
The Goodwin Trophies
The BWRDC Championship started in 1964 with a trophy presented by Joey Freeman, awarded to a Full Racing member with the best 15 race scores. The winner in 1964, 65 and 66 was Natalie Goodwin, who donated 3 perpetual Trophies to the Club in 1967 - 1st place a silver cake stand, 2nd a silver rose bowl and 3rd a silver dish. The rules have changed several times and points from the best 10 races of any status now count.
The Jean Denton Newcomers Award
Presented by Jean Denton, (The Baroness Denton of Wakefield CBE (1935-2001). This Silver Trophy was donated to the Club in 1970, and awarded to the overall best performance by a competitor in their first year of Full Membership from the Racing Section, with points claimed as per the racing championship.
The Hillwood Coupe Des Dames
The Coupe des Dames was first awarded by Val Adaway of Formula Services in 1987, to full members of the Racing Section for most outright race or class wins and class lap Records. In 1995 the trophy received a new sponsor, Norman Hillwood, who donated a silver trophy, accompanied by an individually designed piece of jewellery.
The Gabriel Konig Cup
This is a specifically commissioned trophy, donated by Gabriel Konig and awarded for the best performance at International level.
The Duckhams Sprint Trophy
Presented by Duckhams Oils in 1970, this Silver Salver is awarded to the overall best performance by a Full Member from the Speed section competing in Sprints.
The Susan T-P Jamieson Award
This ‘Daume’ Crystal Racing Car was donated by Susan & Jeff Jamieson in 1989. Open to all members, it is awarded for the fastest average speed of the year, in any form of motorsport. The driver must have completed a minimum of 2 events of the same category in the same vehicle. No minimum speed was set originally, but it is the opinion of the Committee, whose decision is final, that speeds under 100mph do not qualify.
The Anita Taylor Trophy
Donated by Anita Taylor in 2009 and awarded for the best performance by a Saloon Car Driver.
The Monoposto Trophy
This Pewter Award was presented to the Club in 1987 by The Monoposto Racing Club, to encourage many future lady drivers to race single seaters. It is awarded to a Full Racing Member, with the overall best performance driving a single seater racing car, based on the Goodwin Championship results.
Barbara E Bird Memorial
The Barbara E Bird trophy is awarded to the best performance by a junior member.
The Rally Co-driver Champion
This was first awarded in 1979. In 1996, when the rally drivers championship received support by Louise Aitken-Walker, the original drivers trophy, a model historic car presented to the club by Lynn & Alan Jones, was switched to become the perpetual trophy for the co-drivers.
Mary Wheeler Memorial Trophy
Originally the Embassy Trophy, this is awarded to the Club Champion for the best overall performance. It was donated by W D & H O Wills in 1965. In 2013 it was renamed in memory of our founder. In the days of Embassy sponsorship, 1st prize was The Embassy Trophy, £100 and a car badge. 2nd prize was £50 and 3rd £25.
The Rabbit Trophy
One of the club's open awards, given for contributions to the written word.
Show More


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram





© 2017-2020



Our aim is to promote and support women in all forms of motorsport. 

As a member of the BWRDC you will have the opportunity to tap into the wealth of experience and guidance that a specialist club like ours can offer and the chance to receive recognition for your achievements through our prestigious championships. 


Whatever your chosen discipline, we can help you to get started or offer advice through our Mentorship Scheme if you are already competing.



  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest