top of page
  • Writer's pictureYve Rivers-Fletcher

Into Speed Shelsley Walsh Hillclimb

Congratulations to Alex Moore who following the BWRDC Harewood Taster day and as part of the 'Into Speed' initiative took part in her first competitive event driving her BMW E90 at Shelsley Walsh hillclimb last weekend.  Several BWRDC committee were on hand to provide practical support and act as mentors and to also host a BWRDC hub for members to drop by for a chat and refreshments.

Another opportunity on offer was to take a look behind the scenes at the Timekeeping role at a hillclimb. Photographer @RobMacShots captured a shot of BWRDC members at the event - working behind the scenes, competing and supporting.  A shout out for Margaret Blankstone-Schoiber and Cathy Warner who are Wheeler members ie retired competitors with their club section named after our Founder Mary Wheeler, who run the Shelsley Walsh paddock office at competitive events. 


Thanks to the Midland Automobile Club who ran the meeting and MSUK for their support.

A BWRDC Into Speed Ladies Day at Curborough Sprint Course, near Litchfield will be held on Tuesday 21st May.  Hosted by TCS Motorsport with one-to-one in-car coaching - a few spare places left!  A Relaxed, fun afternoon with the emphasis on improving driving technique, with no pressure with timing. More details in News on this website.

The Into Speed initiative continues for ladies who would like to 'have a go' and compete at Prescott Hillclimb on 8th June (entries open now and close 28th May) and Harewood Hillclimb on 3rd August (entries open 24th June - early entry advised ).  Please contact the BWRDC if you are interested in exploring any supporting roles.



Alex Moore, first time competitor at Shelsley Walsh, had the support of Chair Helen Allen

and regular Shelsley Competitor in her Fiat Abarth Lizzie Dudley

Alex on the line ready to take to the hill! Alex had a big smile on

her face afterwards!

(Photographer credit: Rob Macdonald)

And some of the BWRDC Ladies who were working behind the scenes, competing and supporting (L to R Amanda George, Amanda Nicholls, Margaret  Blankstone-Schoiber , Chair Helen Allen, Alex Moore, Lizzie Dudley and Cathy Warner)

Cupcakes were offered to any visitors to the



bottom of page